San Pancrazio Martire

A few kilometers from Rome, nestled in the Veio Park and perched on a tuff cliff, the Borgo di Isola Farnese dominates. Former Etruscan fortress, it became a Roman town hall after the conquest of the city of Veio. In the 17th century, it assumed the name of Farnese and its present appearance when Cardinal Alessandro Farnese bought the homonymous castle. Traces of the roman culture is the column in the main square, called Colonna Square, which stands in front of the ramp, the ancient access to the village.

The protagonist of the square is the Parish of San Pancrazio Martyr, a small 1400 medieval church built by the Orsini and restored in the 16th century.

The façade has a beautiful archway built with Roman marble, and above it a rosette with polychrome glass decoration.

The interior consists of three naves divided by pillars and central apse. In stark contrast to the conservative exterior the many frescoes, of Umbrian and Viterbese schools, dating from the 15th to the 17th century, embellish the interior walls.

From the late imperial age the two marble corinthian capitals that form the water reservoir at the entrance.

The sixth-century fresco of the apse is divided into two parts: the lower part depicts the death of the Virgin amongst the twelve apostles, while the upper part depicts God the Father crowning the Madonna.

The Parish of San Pancrazio is suitable for those who want a wedding in a perfect medieval style and immersed in history, at a short distance from the historic Castello Farnese.

A serene atmosphere away from the clamor of city traffic.

The church offers a capacity of 150 seats.